Tel: 02897 511002


Please select a publication

Winners Announced for COVID-19 Time Capsule Competition

September 2020 - The East Down Advertiser

  Prize winners in the PCSP COVID-19 Time Capsule Competition (L-R) are Claire Loughran PCSP Officer, Runner Up Fiachna McAleenan, (Leitrim) with his photo story about COVID-19, Councillor John Trainor PCSP Chairperson, Winner Allae Dieng-McComb (Annalong) with his framed story 'COVID-19 Stole our Reality' and Martina Flynn, Safer Communities and Good Relations Manager Newry, Mourne and Down District Council.

At the start of the COVID-19 pandemic Newry, Mourne and Down Policing and Community Safety Partnership (PCSP) launched an exciting Time Capsule Competition, inviting young people from across the district to tell their experiences of lockdown in the mediums of art and print.

Hundreds of entries were received and winner, Alle Dieng McComb from Annalong and runner up, Fiachna McAleenan from Leitrim, recently received their prizes from Newry, Mourne and Down PCSP Chairperson, Councillor John Trainor.

Chairperson, Councillor John Trainor said, “These have been strange times, but we also recognise that we are part of living history. In years to come others will study and learn from how people and communities lived during the COVID-19 pandemic and lockdown. Newry, Mourne and Down PCSP our delighted with the response to our Time Capsule competition and I would like to thank all of those who took the time to enter.”

All entries have been included in a special commemorative book so that each participant will have a lasting reminder of their contribution.  A copy of this book has been placed in a time capsule, which is now buried in a secret location within the district.  It is hoped that the entries will also go on public display later in 2020. 

Newry, Mourne and Down Policing and Community Safety Partnership supports a range of activities aimed at improving local road safety across local communities.  For further information please contact the PCSP office on 0330 137 4039 or by email at


Copyright © 2013 - eda media

Site by The Tomorrow Lab